The Time Traveler: Fajr Productivity, Author: Issa Abbasi


For the past week, I am sure most of you have all heard the same greeting at school, work and in other endeavors from those around you; “Happy New Year (insert your name here)!” Before 2009 left us, Imam Muhammad AlShareef started a series called the “Time Traveler” and may Allah (s.w.t.) reward him for his efforts.  In the first installment on his blog of this new series, he posted a picture depicting a person with two scenarios one faces on a daily basis.  His picture of these two scenarios is found below.

During my winter break last week, I decided to experiment this illustration by implementing both scenarios.  Naturally and alhamdulliliah, I am by nature a morning person (weekends are tougher for me to be a morning person), but after seeing Sheikh Muhammad’s illustration, I wanted to really live the experience of both scenarios in detail.  Alhamdullilah, on weekdays I stay awake after Fajr and get to work early and the first scenario works well for me five days a week.  But as for my weekends, a different story exists.  On the weekends, I normally give one day to sleep after Fajr and one day to stay awake.  In any case, I have two examples that relate to Sheikh Muhammad’s Time Traveler series on Wednesday, December 30th and Sunday, January 3rd, 2010.

Scenario 1: Wednesday, December 30, 2009

I was blessed with the opportunity to wake up a few minutes earlier than the Fajr athan.  I contemplated going to the Masjid for Fajr, but the combination of being sick and freezing weather was one of my main reasons for staying home. That and receiving the reward of waking everyone up for tahajjud and Fajr in my house tilted my decision to stay home.  So alhamdullilah, I prayed a few raka’s of tahajjud, read Qur’an and proceeded to wake up my siblings to try and do the same.

The adhan came and went and my whole family prayed Fajr together as usual.  What happened next was amazing.  I was so energized that I chatted a little with my father, and then ironed eight shirts (yup, 8!) while watching the news recount the year 2009’s events.  I ate breakfast early (I wished I could have exercised had it not been for my sickness), shaved around my beard, showered and dressed, all by 9:30 AM on my day off!  But wait, it gets better.  The rest of my day was so energetic considering I had only 4 to 4.5 hours of sleep the night before.  I think I know want to do my best to stick to this routine for future weekends and days off from work.

Scenario 2: Sunday, January 3, 2010

I woke up to pray Fajr with my family alhamdullilah.  Unfortunately, there was no way I could have prayed in the Masjid because it was already 6:45 AM when I woke up (they pray by 6:20 AM).  After we prayed Fajr, my family and I had a short discussion before everyone returned to their rooms at 7:30 to work or catch up on sleep.  I remember telling myself “I’ll sleep for another hour or two then I will wake up and carry on with my day.”  That didn’t happen.  By the time I woke up, the clock read 10:02 AM.  Alhamdullilah my sickness was gone, but I felt horrible regardless.  It was already 10 AM and I had almost nothing except praying Fajr on time to show for my day.

By the time I ate breakfast with my family and got ready for another day off, it was 11:30 AM.  I managed to pray Duhr in the Masjid and after running errands, I arrived back home by 3 PM and prayed Asr.  Before I knew it, Maghrib came in and I barely replied to my emails from the morning!  The adhan for Ishaa came and went before I knew it and my family had just eaten dinner.  My thought at the time was  “Great, tomorrow I go back to work and I didn’t get to finish the rest of my “to do list” over my 10 day break.”  Sleeping in after Fajr I used to say is a guilty pleasure, but I don’t think I can even use the word “pleasure” with sleeping in anymore; it’s more like just plain guilt.  Don’t get me wrong, unless one really needs to sleep after Fajr, they should do so, but if one can stay awake and benefit from their time, it is the better of the two options.

The purpose of this post was to inshaAllah give a firsthand account of how productive one can be when starting their day after Fajr.  Staying awake after this salah is so key to a productive day that the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) once said: “Allah made the early hours blessed for my Ummah.”

Now that alone makes me more enthused to get to bed earlier!  How about you?  Are you ready to become an “early bird?”  If you’re still not ready, then I encourage you to be convinced by Sheikh Muhammad AlShareef through his “Time Traveler” series.  His series blog can be found at http://timetravelmaster.blogspot.com.

May Allah (s.w.t.) grant us all the next level of Eman!

Too shy to post comments on this page? Send them to islampoetry.wordpress@gmail.com instead and let us know what you think or what topic you would like to see written about!

Advertisement

The Code Evolved: Evolution of Fiqh Islam came.
Life evolved.
Islam should have died.
It should have…
but it did not.
The Code Evolved.


For more information about this seminar, click here!

~ by Yousaf on January 8, 2010.

4 Responses to “The Time Traveler: Fajr Productivity, Author: Issa Abbasi”

  1. Jazaak Allaahu Khayr, that was a great read!
    I’m right there with you on no longer enjoying sleeping in. I actually feel like I wasted my time, and the day really DOES speed past. It feels like there aren’t enough hours in the day. Half the time little gets done, but if it just so happens that most of it is accomplished, there is almost always a deficiency in effort. And we can’t have that now, can we?

  2. I’ve been following Muhammad AlShareef’s blog! The pictures are so simple but teach so many lessons. MashaAllah, it’s amazing. And I agree, we get so much more done when we stay up after fajr. Your day just goes so well and un-stressed when you do that. InshaAllah, we’re all ready to become “early birds”

  3. Jazaak Allahu Khair for the article. We have, as an ummah, this amazing insight into the potential of our productivity and health, yet many of us are so used to thinking of sleeping in as a reward or even necessity. It would be great if you could help encourage your friends and family (hint, hint) to follow the proper method and insha’Allah you will earn even more reward for helping someone else benefit from their time.

  4. Great article, mashAllah! I’ve been experimenting with this for the past week and my experience was almost identical to yours. Kudos to you for doing it in the winter though. I find it so easy to do when the weather is nice and warm enough to go out for a jog. But I find it very difficult to do in the winter. Any tips? JazakAllahu khairun!

Leave a Reply

 
