Who and Why?


In the Name of God, Most Gracious and Most Merciful

My name: Ahmad Yousaf, but everyone knows me as plain Yousaf

Who I am: I am a 22 year old Muslim, American, 2nd Year Medical Student, MAS Member, Poet who dreams too much of what the world should be and not enough about what I can do to make it that way. I have had my catharsis about the satisfaction of this world vs. the pleasure of my Lord and have chosen the latter. I am that ‘laid back’ guy who usually doesn’t get stressed out too easily and kind of lets things unravel themselves.

Why I started a blog: It is not that I have much interesting to say, but I have been asked by many to make a website for my poetry so here is my venue :). Also, as I go through this interesting time in my life, I thought blogging sounded way cooler than keeping a diary… Only losers and girls keep those 😛 jk. Plus, maybe this is a small way I can reach out and actually make something happen, instead of just sitting back and hoping for things to happen by themselves. My greatest fear, aside from people hating my blog :), is ending up an old man who looks back on his life and realizes that he never did anything worth the value of the time that God gave him. It is a scary thought to have had lived life and then enter my grave, leaving the world exactly the same as I found it.

Please be critical and leave comments for my poetry and know that that only way I can get better at this is if you tell me how!

Your brudda,

yousaf

~ by Yousaf on March 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
